Free Delivery Within Germany

2020 Throwback Interview mit Kia

This year was crazy! Many unpredictable obstacles had overcome our way and many changes have taken place in everyone's life. But in the end, this challenging year has also brought success and joy. This blog post addresses the year 2020 with an interview from Ines to Kia looking back at 2020. 

THROWBACK 2020

 KiaAlex

AN INTERVIEW WITH FOUNDER KIA

All in all, this year was a year with gigantic ups and downs, which we will certainly remember for a long time. But to master new challenges and to have successfully mastered this year despite the pandemic gives us, Kia-Charlotta as a team, an incredible joy. How Kia perceived this year, which successes and which turbulences she experienced, you can read in the following interview: 

How are you doing whilst this upcoming new year?

I am doing quite well. It has been a somewhat difficult and unpredictable year but also very exciting. But in all honesty, I am happy this year is over soon, and I am just ready to start the new year. We have lots of exciting things planned for Kia-Charlotta which I am looking forward to so much!

What changed within Kia-Charlotta in 2020

The year started a little slow. Like with most companies we were also faced with a lot of uncertainty when Corona came where we had to “move carefully” because we just didn’t know what could happen. To my utmost gratitude however, we have come through Corona very well. This year was super exciting especially because we finally moved into our new and much larger office. We also grew our team, and we are now nine amazing and motivated beautiful souls. It really makes the world of a difference to the business when you have a good team behind it.

Of course, some new things happened in terms of our products and website too which we were so happy to implement. We launched a new 15 Free recipe for our nail polishes which are up to 87% natural. This was amazing because it has always been my promise to offer the most natural nail polish possible with simultaneously a good quality and this new recipe is just amazing! We also have a new BEAUTIFUL website which I am so proud of. Our team really came together to create something special and I really feel this was an upgrade that Kia-Charlotta needed, especially during Corona times where online sales became a much stronger focus for us.

This year I have also spent a lot of time in product development which is one of the reasons why I am so excited for next year because we should be bringing a few new amazing products out.

How where you effected by Corona?

Kia-Charlotta was definitely affected by Corona. Before the first lockdown the majority of our revenue came from retail and when the shops were forced to close down, we were definitely worried what this year would become. We had to quickly shift our focus to online which luckily, we were able to master and grow very quickly. Today we our revenue is pretty much 50-50 between retail and online which is just amazing. We are very lucky and extremely grateful that we have managed to come through and even thrive through corona times.

How do you manage all the hard work every day?

When you are passionate about something it’s just what you do – there is no option. I always say that entrepreneurship is sometimes just insanity. It’s pretty insane the hours and the things you would do for your business. But that’s what passion is. You don’t question it and you just do it because you love it. You literally love it even when you hate it – a strange feeling but so true.

On top of that I try to balance my admittingly unhealthy work hours with other healthy habits. I eat healthy(ish), I make sure to get my workouts in, I try to sleep well (this one is hard for me though) and I also meditate regularly. On top of that I take Saturdays pretty much off and just do whatever I want…which too often is also work in some way or another.

Bottom line is that I feel my happiest when I am working on my dreams. Even though it’s not always fun and laughter, there is nothing I would rather do. For now, at least.

What was your lessons learned this year?

I have always lived with the mindset of perseverance and knowing that if you don’t let all the no’s, mistakes, downfalls and obstacles bring you down and if you keep going no matter what, you can achieve amazing things…almost anything. This year has definitely highlighted that for me.

 What was your favorite moment of 2020?

1. Our new website which we launched in October. This was an update we have wanted to do for so long and we couldn’t be happier or prouder of our new online “home”.

2. Growing our team and moving in our new office. It’s amazing to have passionate people working with you. I definitely missed that and am super proud and grateful for our team and their spirit. Moving into our new office was also definitely a highlight simply because it was a representation of our growth but also, we were starting to feel super claustrophobic in our old office which was just way too small for our team or our inventory.

 What was your worst moment of 2020?

The first day of Lockdown in March. I remember it so clearly because it was a Saturday, a day which is usually our best day when it comes to online orders, but that Saturday was our worst since we launched in 2017. We only got one order and, on top of that, all the shops were just forced to close for a month. It was such a surreal moment where we just felt helpless and just didn’t know what was going to happen. I think everyone felt like that. And of course, since the virus was still so new to everyone, we were of course also super worried about the health of our team, family and each other. It was just surreal.

 Again, we are just super lucky and grateful that everything turned out well and we, our team and family have all stayed healthy and we hope it stays that way.

What are you proud of in the year 2020?

My team and myself who all worked their butts off to make this year great. We learned from mistakes and went outside our comfort zones.

What is your favorite Kia-Charlotta colour in 2020?

Definitely Magic. It’s such a beautiful subtle colour with a little bit of metallic and shimmer. It pretty much feels like magic on my nails.

What can we expect in 2021?

Lots of new exciting projects. The beauty of 2021 is the blooming of our hard work on all projects in 2020. We will definitely be introducing new products, but we also want to work on building a stronger connection to our community.

Any advice you would like to give the world for 2021?

I don’t think I am in any position to give advice to the whole world. For that we are all too different and in different places in our lives.

But from my perspective and my lessons in life I would probably say to live without expectations whilst always aiming high and doing the best you can. And always be proudly yourself and you do YOU!

In the end I want to thank all of you for all your support! Without you, this wouldn´t be possible and we are more than happy for our wonderful community. 

We wish you an amazing new yeat and if you have any other questions don’t hesitate to ask us anytime.

Lots of LOVE,

Your Kia-Charlotta Team

Make sure to follow us on Instagram, Facebook & Pinterest for more fun and informative content! Remember to use #kiacharlotta so that we can see your posts with @kiacharlotta!

The fields marked with * are required.

Code: Black30 = 30% auf Sets & Black20 = 20% auf Singles

2020 Throwback Interview mit Kia

Auch dieses Jahr blicken wir auf die vergangene turbulente Zeit zurück. Viele unvorhersehbare Hürden waren zu meistern und viele Veränderungen haben im Leben aller stattgefunden. Doch letztendlich hat dieses fordernde Jahr auch positive Seiten, Erfolg und Freude mit sich gebracht. Dieser Blog Post richtet sich mit einem Interview von Marketing Managerin Ines an Gründerin Kia zum Rückblick an das Jahr 2020.  

JAHRESRÜCKBLICK 2020

KiaAlex

EIN INTERVIEW MIT GRÜNDERIN KIA

Insgesamt war dieses Jahr für alle sicherlich ein Jahr, mit viele Höhen und Tiefen, welches wir ganz lange in Erinnerung behalten werden. Doch neue Herausforderungen zu meistern, und dieses Jahr trotz Pandemie erfolgreich bewältigt zu haben bereitet uns, Kia-Charlotta als Team, eine unglaubliche Freude. Wie Kia dieses Jahr wahrgenommen hat, welche Erfolge und welche Turbulenzen sie erlebt hat erfahrt ihr im folgendem Interview: 

Wie geht’s es dir jetzt im Jahreswechsel?

Mir geht es recht gut. Es war ein schwieriges und unvorhersehbares Jahr, aber dennoch sehr aufregend. Aber um ehrlich zu sein freue ich mich schon, wenn das Jahr vorbei ist und bin bereits das neue Jahr voller Energie anzugehen. Wir haben viele spannende Projekte für Kia-Charlotta geplant, auf die ich mich schon sehr freue!

Was hat sich im Jahr 2020 bei Kia-Charlotta verändert?

Das Jahr begann ein wenig schleppend. Wie bei den meisten Unternehmen entstand im Zuge von Corona auch bei uns eine große Unsicherheit, weil wir einfach nicht wussten was passiert und wie es weiter geht. Ich bin sehr dankbar, dass wir Corona aber sehr gut überstanden haben. Dieses Jahr war sehr spannend, vor allem weil wir endlich in unser neues und viel größeres Büro umgezogen sind. Wir haben auch unser Team vergrößert und sind jetzt neun wunderbare und motivierte Beautiful Souls. Es macht wirklich einen großen Unterschied für uns, ein gutes Team hinter sich zu haben.

Natürlich gab es auch einige neue Dinge in Bezug auf unsere Produkte und unsere Webseite, über die wir uns sehr gefreut haben. Wir haben eine neue 15-Free Rezeptur für unsere Nagellacke eingeführt, die bis zu 87 % natürlich sind. Das finden wir super, weil es immer mein Versprechen war, einen Nagellack anzubieten, der so natürlich wie möglich ist, bei gleichzeitig sehr guter Qualität. Wir sind daher einfach begeistert von der neuen Rezeptur! Wir haben auch eine neue wundervolle Webseite, auf die ich sehr stolz bin. Unser Team hat sich viel Mühe gegeben, etwas Besonderes zu schaffen. Ich denke unsere neue Webseite war wirklich ein Upgrade, welches für Kia-Charlotta nötig war. Besonders in Zeiten von Corona, in der wir nun noch einen stärkeren Fokus auf den Online-Bereich haben.

In diesem Jahr habe ich auch viel Zeit in die Produktentwicklung gesteckt, was einer der Gründe ist, warum ich mich so auf das nächste Jahr freue, denn wir launchen ein paar neue tolle Produkte und sind schon ganz aufgeregt!

Inwiefern war Kia-Charlotta von Corona betroffen?

Kia-Charlotta war, wie die meisten Händler, von Corona betroffen. Vor dem ersten Lockdown kam ein großer Teil unseres Umsatzes aus dem Einzelhandel und als viele Geschäfte schließen mussten, waren wir etwas unsicher, was aus diesem Jahr werden würde. Wir mussten schnell einen stärkeren Fokus auf Online richten, was wir glücklicherweise sehr gut meistern und ausbauen konnten. Wir sind sehr glücklich und extrem dankbar, dass wir es geschafft haben, die Corona-Zeiten sehr gut zu überstehen.

Wie schaffst du es die viele Arbeit unter einen Hut zu bringen?

Wenn man eine Leidenschaft für etwas hat, ist es relativ einfach – da gibt es einfach keine andere Option. Es ist aber ziemlich verrückt, wieviele Stunden man für sein Business aufbringen muss. Aber das ist es, was Leidenschaft ausmacht. Man stellt es nicht in Frage und man tut es einfach, weil man es liebt.

Darüber hinaus versuche ich, meine zugegebenermaßen ungesunden Arbeitszeiten mit anderen gesunden Gewohnheiten auszugleichen. Ich ernähre mich gesund, achte darauf, dass ich Sport mache, versuche, gut zu schlafen (das fällt mir allerdings oft schwer) und ich meditiere auch regelmäßig. Außerdem nehme ich mir Samstags möglichst frei mache das worauf ich Lust habe oder sonst gemacht werden muss... was allzu oft auch wie Arbeit ist wie den Haushalt oder Einkäufe erledigen.

Fazit ist, dass ich mich am glücklichsten fühle, wenn ich an meinen Träumen arbeite. Auch wenn nicht immer alles super ist, gibt es nichts, was ich lieber tun würde. Zumindest im Moment.

Was hast du in 2020 gelernt?

Ich habe immer mit der Einstellung gelebt, dass ich durch meine Erfahrung und Ausdauer alles erreichen kann. Vor allem sollte man sich nicht von Fehlern, Misserfolgen und Hindernissen unterkriegen lassen sondern weitermachen, egal was passiert. Dieses Jahr hat das für mich definitiv hervorgehoben.

Was war dein Key Moment 2020?

1. Unsere neue Website, die wir im Oktober gelauncht haben. Das war ein Upgrade, das wir schon so lange umsetzen wollten. Aktuell könnten wir nicht glücklicher und stolzer auf unser neues Online-"Zuhause" sein.

2. Die Erweiterung unseres Teams und der Umzug in unser neues Büro. Es ist fantastisch, leidenschaftliche Menschen um sich zu haben, die alle gemeinsam an einem Strang ziehen. Ich habe das definitiv vermisst und bin sehr stolz und dankbar für unser Team und den Team Spirit. Der Umzug in unser neues Büro war auch definitiv ein Highlight, einfach weil es unser Wachstum repräsentiert. 

Was war dein schlimmster Moment 2020?

Der Samstag vor dem ersten Lockdown im März. Ein Tag, der normalerweise ein sehr starker Tag ist, wenn es um Online-Bestellungen geht. Aber dieser Samstag war unser schlechtester seit Beginn im Jahr 2017. Obendrein mussten alle Läden für einen Monat schließen. Es war so ein surrealer Moment mit großer Unsicherheit was da auf uns alle zukommt. Ich glaube, jeder hat sich so gefühlt. Und da der Virus für alle noch so neu war, waren wir natürlich auch besorgt um die Gesundheit unseres Teams, unserer Familie und unserer Mitmenschen. Es war einfach irgendwie unwirklich.

Wir sind einfach superglücklich und dankbar, dass alles gut ausgegangen ist und wir, unser Team und unsere Familie alle gesund geblieben sind.

Was ist deine Lieblings Kia-Charlotta Nagellackfarbe 2020?

Definitiv Magic. Es ist so eine schöne, dezente Farbe mit einem kleinen Hauch von Metallic und Schimmer.

Was können wir für das Jahr 2021 erwarten?

Viele neue spannende Projekte! Das Schöne am Jahr 2021 ist die Blüte unserer harten Arbeit an allen Projekten im Jahr 2020. Wir werden tolle neue Produkte einführen, aber wir wollen auch daran arbeiten, eine stärkere Verbindung zu unserer Community aufzubauen.

Wenn du der Welt einen Rat für das Jahr 2021 mit auf den Weg geben könntest, welcher wäre das?

Ich glaube nicht, dass ich in der Lage bin, Ratschläge für die ganze Welt zu geben. Dafür sind wir alle zu unterschiedlich und an verschiedenen Stellen in unserem Leben.

Aber aus meiner Perspektive und meinen Lektionen im Leben würde ich wahrscheinlich sagen, dass man ohne Erwartungen leben sollte, während man sich immer hohe Ziele setzt und sein Bestes gibt. Und vor allem: sei immer stolz auf dich selbst You do You!

Ebenso möchte ich mich bei allen für eure Unterstützung bedanken! Ohne Euch wäre dies nicht möglich und wir sind mehr als glücklich über unsere wunderbare Community.

In diesem Sinne wünschen wir dir einen wundervollen Start ins neue Jahr!

Ganz viel LIEBE,
Ines & Kia

Vergiss nicht unsere Blogposts oder Videos zu teilen, wenn sie Dir gefallen haben und folg uns auf Instagram, Facebook & Pinterest für mehr inspirierende und informative Beiträge! Denk auch daran #kiacharlotta zu verwenden oder uns mit @kiacharlotta zu markieren, damit wir auch alle deiner tollen Beiträge sehen können! 

 

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Passende Artikel